2020 Local Fireworks Regulations - Central County Fire & Rescue

2020 Local Fireworks Regulations



Like many things, fireworks are going to look a little different this July 4. With 72-square miles in our Fire District, we serve numerous communities here in St. Charles County, and each municipality has established fireworks regulations. Take a look below for the regulations where you live. If you do decide to set off fireworks at home, please be careful, and keep them away from children and pets. Remember, we’re only a 911 call away if you need help.

Local Fireworks Regulations

City of St. Peters

It is illegal to shoot off fireworks, unless you’re operating a professional display approved through a permit. The sale of fireworks within City limits is also prohibited.
Details available here.

City of St. Charles

You are allowed to purchase fireworks within the City of St. Charles and certain fireworks can be set off from noon until 11 p.m. on July 3 and 4. The City of St. Charles does have a professional fireworks display scheduled along the riverfront at 9:20 p.m. on July 4.
Details available here.

City of O’Fallon

The sale of fireworks is allowed in the City of O’Fallon until July 6. You can discharge them July 3 and 4 from noon until 11 p.m.
Details available here. 

Unincorporated St. Charles County

Fireworks can be sold in Unincorporated St. Charles County until July 6. They may be used from 10 a.m. until 11 p.m. July 2-5.
Details available here.