Chief Honored - Central County Fire & Rescue

Chief Honored

CCFR Chief Russ Mason named finalist for National Fire Chief of the Year Award.



Central County Fire & Rescue (CCFR) Fire Chief Russ Mason has been selected as one of ten national finalists for the 2012 Career Fire Chief of the Year Awards. The award, which is presented by FIRE CHIEF Magazine, honours one volunteer chief and one career chief for long-time dedication and leadership in the fire and emergency services.

Chief Mason’s nomination was based upon his 35-years of dedication to keeping communities safe as a state-wide leader of the fire service. After starting as a volunteer firefighter and advancing to the rank of Chief in Bolivar, MO, Chief Mason served as the Asst. Fire Chief of Rolla Fire & Rescue, the Deputy Chief State Fire Marshal and an Associate Instructor with the Missouri Fire & Rescue Training Institute at the University of Missouri. He helped create and implement many state-wide programs and standards including the state’s first state Fire Fighter, Fire Instructor, Fire Inspector and Fire Officer I certification programs, and the States Arson K-9 Program.

In addition to serving as Chief for one of the largest fire districts in the area, he has served on countless boards, associations and commissions including: serving as President of the Professional Fire & Fraud Investigators Association, Vice President of the Missouri Fire Chiefs Association, Vice Chairman for the Missouri Fire Service Alliance, appointed to the Advisory Committee for 911 Service Oversight, Chair of the Missouri Fire & Ambulance District Insurance Trust Fund Board, and serving on the National Fire Academy’s Committee to Revise Fire Investigation Curriculum. He has also testified as an expert witness in the field of fire investigation in Missouri Associate Circuit Court, Circuit Court and United States Federal Court.

“Chief Mason exemplifies what many strive to become. He is an emergency services leader who has responded to more than 2,000 fire-related incidents, has been responsible for point of origin and cause determination for over 900 fires, and has helped create a strongly well-respected fire protection program,” explains CCFR Board President Dave Tilley. “He sets a strong example and is a positive leader for our entire district.”

The winners of FIRE CHIEF’s Fire Chief of the Year Award will be announced on August 3 at the opening session of the Fire-Rescue International conference in Denver. The awards are sponsored by Pierce Manufacturing.

The other finalists for the award are:

  • Chief Kelvin Cochran, Atlanta Fire Rescue Department
  • Chief Joseph “Jay” Fleming, Boston Fire Department
  • Chief Joseph E. Florentino, Little Elm (Texas) Fire Department
  • Chief Craig Haigh, Hanover Park (Ill.) Fire Department
  • Chief Otto Huber, Loveland-Symmes Fire Department, Loveland, Ohio
  • Chief Rhoda Mae Kerr, Austin (Texas) Fire Department
  • Chief Bruce Kramer, Navy Region Northwest Fire & Emergency Services, Keyport, Wash.
  • Chief Jack K. McElfish, Sandy Springs (Ga.) Fire Rescue
  • Chief Kenneth M. Torain, Roxboro (N.C.) Fire Department