Meet Brian Baglin

Firefighter Brian Baglin has been a firefighter for more than a decade, and has been serving the CCFR community since February 2017.

Why did you become a firefighter?

I became a firefighter because I enjoy working hard, helping people and looking for a challenge. I’ve always thought that a job isn’t work if you enjoy what you’re doing. I enjoy waking up every morning knowing my day will be filled with new challenges and new opportunities. I’ve wanted to be a firefighter since I was young. Not many people can say they fulfilled a childhood dream, however, I can.

What is your favorite part of the job?

My favorite part of the job is being able to use my abilities to help the community. I also enjoy meeting new people, gaining friendships and the comradery of the brotherhood of firemen.

What do you like to do outside of work?

Outside of work I enjoy fishing, hunting, woodworking, golfing and being with friends and family. Many times, I find myself working on something around the house or in the garage working on new projects.

What would people be surprised to know about you?

Something I think people would be surprised to know about me is that I used to race motorcycles, semi-professionally.

Describe a typical day at the firehouse?

A typical day at the firehouse would include; coffee, breakfast, hanging out with the guys on my shift and maybe a workout if time allows. Along with the fun and some relaxation comes duties, chores and protecting the community. Making sure the trucks are in good working order and stocked appropriately, the firehouse is neat and well maintained and my gear is always ready for the next call.

What are two things that would surprise non-firefighters?

Something that would surprise a non-firefighter would be the amount of continued training we complete to keep ourselves and the department up to date on the newest safety measures. A non-firefighter might also be surprised at the amount of education that firefighters have and continue to receive.

Where do you live?

I currently reside in Troy, Illinois. I live with my wife and our two dogs just south of town.